Things I Wish I Did More Of

Whenever you travel, you feel like you’re living at a 1,000 miles an hour. You wake up early to get the most out of your day and go to sleep way too late. I don’t know about you, but I tend to try to stuff way too many things while I travel; I want to see and do everything! I always travel with the idea that I may never come back.

The thing is, there will always be things I will miss out on, whether it’s because of a lack of time or lack of funds…. but rather than list all things I regret not doing, I’m going to tell you all the things I did more of while travelling.

417399_10150988942666402_1526729100_n

While travelling, I wish I would…

Take more pictures
I already take a lot of pictures, but there will always be places, people or moments that I didn’t capture and wish I had. Though in a way, sometimes I’m glad I didn’t take those pictures. In a way, it just means that I was having too much fun or was too into the moment to think of taking my camera out.

Start more conversations
When you travel on your own, one of the best things you can do is to simply talk to people. Starting conversations with a simple “where are you from?” will get you a long way. Talking to fellow travellers can change your trip completely; you may just find yourself a new travel buddy or even going on a completely different adventure! Talking to locals is your best source of information. They can tell you what to see, what to visit and even introduce you to other people.

Turn off the electronics
Take a moment, turn off your cellphone, your iPod, iPad, etc. and just look around. Walk through a park, enjoy the weather (good or bad), people watch… Just let go for a moment and take it all in.

Breathe
It’s okay to take a day off from sightseeing. You don’t have to see every single museum, memorial or statue the city has to offer. Travelling is a lot more stressful than we think… Don’t ever feel guilty for wanting a day to relax away from the craziness of being a tourist.

Leave a Reply

